Saturday, March 5, 2011

Classification of the anti-arrhythmic drugs

Detailed Classification of Anti-arrhythmic drugs
Class I (Na+ Channel blockers):

Class IA drugs (Fast Channel Blockers):
Quinidine, Procainamide, Disopyramide, Imipramine, Amiodarone, Moricizine, Diphenylhydantoin, Ajmaline, Dronedarone, KB130015

Class IB drugs:
Lidocaine, Tocainide, Mexiletine, Phenytoin

Class IC drugs:
Flecainide, Encainide, Indecainide, Lorcainide, Propafenone
Class II Drugs (╬▓-blockers):
Propranolol, Esmolol, Atenolol, Timolol, Metoprolol, Bisoprolol

Class III Drugs (K-Channel blockers):
Amiodarone, Sotalol, Bretylium, Dofetilide, Ibutilide, N-acetylprocainamide, Almokalant, Nibentan, Nifekalant, Azimilide, AVE0118, Ronalozine

Class IV drugs (Ca-Channel blockers or Slow Channel Blockers):
(V) Verapamil, Diltiazem, Bepridil, Nifedipine

Class V drugs:
Digitalis, Adenosine, Digoxin

Miscellaneous Drugs:
Magnesium, Potassium, BIIB-513, Cariporide, H345/52, SSR149744C, Tecadenoson, Tedisamil, ZP123

Further Reading:
Current Trends in Pharmacology by Ray, A.and Gulati, K. 2007, International Publishing house private Ltd.

Fundamental Approaches to the management of Cardiac Arrhythmias by Sung, R. J. and Lauer, M. R. 2000, Kluwer Academic Publishers.

Physiology and Pharmacology of the Heart by Brown, H.; Kozlowski, R. and Davey, P. 1997, Willey Blackwell.
Post a Comment